Borderline Landscapes

I have been working on a new project called ‘Borderline Landscapes’. It is about identity, especially female identity, as well as my personal battle with Borderline Personality Disorder.

I got the idea because I often feel like there are loads of people rattling around in my head. I also have a fascination with dolls, and how they, as fake humans, relate to identity. I am fascinated by the concept of dolls, and especially how they often embody the ‘perfect’ female identity of the era they were produced in.

The piece is a face made out of carboard and wood, split into rooms. Inside the rooms are a variety of 2D and 3D dolls. In the basement is a murdered doll, although another claims that the blood is ‘Only Ketchup’. The background is made out of papier mache-d mills and boons books.

I am very obviously not a photographer, but I have tried to produce a series of photographs of the project from various angles.

Left middle

Left Top

Looking down

Front

Right side Top

Right Side 3

left side 1

Right Side 1

Back 2

Back 1

Right middle

Left Top

Leave a Reply

